Car accidents are generally frightening experiences. Even a low-speed fender bender has the potential to produce a startling crunch of metal and the explosive deployment of airbags.
Following an accident – if you are not at fault – you must deal with the reality of attempting to get compensation for damages you may have sustained to your vehicle and body. Figuring out the monetary value of car accident settlements is dependent upon a few factors.
Factor in Insurance
Alabama is an at-fault state concerning car accidents. That is to say, the person responsible for the car accident is liable for all damages and losses. As a result, the state requires drivers to purchase liability insurance with the following minimums:
- $25,000 for death or bodily injury to one person
- $50,000 for death or bodily injury to two or more people
- $25,000 for damage of property
Calculating Car Accident Settlements
Typically, the insurance company of the party at fault for the accident is responsible for paying costs due to:
- Disfigurement and Permanent Physical Disability
Lasting damage such as loss of a limb or mobility and scarring will increase the value of your claim.
- Physical Suffering
Victims that have suffered broken bones, head injury, back injury, and nerve damage will typically receive more than claimants with only bruises or sprains.
- Lost Wages from Work
Injuries may hinder your ability to work and earn a living wage.
- Medical Bills and Related Expenses
Medications, future medical care costs, and treatments by doctors, clinics, and hospitals create added expenses related to your injuries.
- Emotional Damages Due to Physical and Financial Distress
Your personal injury lawyer can assign a monetary value to depression, grief, insomnia, and other issues caused by an injury.
- Vehicle Value
Vehicle damage and your car’s condition and value before the accident play a role in additional funds received. For instance, the condition and value of your car before the accident includes mileage and depreciated value.
Key Points to Remember
Alabama is a contributory negligence state, which means you cannot win any damages if you are found to have contributed even 1% fault in the accident. If the insurer or court determines your carelessness led to your injuries, you will not win an award in a personal injury claim.
Alabama has a two-year statute of limitations to file a lawsuit from the date of the accident. Therefore, it is critical to contact an experienced attorney soon after to assist with determining fault in the accident and acting on your behalf when corresponding with the liable party’s insurance company.
If you have been involved in an accident and want the help of experienced attorneys to get you what you deserve for your distress, please contact Siniard, Timberlake & League. We can help.